Reality TV

[WATCH] Costume Designers Guild Awards 2021 Winners List – Deadline

The 23rd annual Costume Designers Guild Awards are being handed out in a virtual ceremony tonight, and Deadline is updating the winners list as they are announced.

The CDGAs, which celebrate the best in film, TV and shortform costume design spanning eight categories, with marquee film awards separated into Contemporary, Period and Fantasy races. Check out the winners list and remaining nominees below.

The ceremony is being livestreamed on Twitter for the first time — you can follow along here:

On the TV side, Westworld’s Shay Cunliffe took the trophy for Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television, Debra Hansen of Schitt’s Creek won for Contemporary TV, and Gabriele Binder scooped the Period Television prize for The Queen’s Gambit.

Lana Condor, star of the To All the Boys films, is hosting the CDGAs, and presenters include Rose Byrne, Andra Day, Emerald Fennell, Regina King, Leslie Odom Jr. and Amanda Seyfried.

Since the CDGAs launched 22 years ago, the Academy Award for Best Costume Design has gone to a period film all but twice — with only Mad Max: Fury Road and Black Panther bucking the trend in 2016 and 2019, respectively. True to form, all five of this year’s Oscar nominees are set in days gone by, with CDGA-nominees Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix), Mank facing off for the statuette against Focus Features’ Emma and Disney’s Mulan and Pinocchio, both of which are vying for Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film tonight.

Jojo Rabbit took last year’s CDG Award for period film but lost the Academy Award to Little Women.

Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers

Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers
Everett Collection

Longtime Shondaland producing partners Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers (Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, et al.) will receive the guild’s Distinguished Collaborator Award, which goes to to individuals who demonstrate unwavering support of costume design and creative partnerships with costume designers.

The CDG, IATSE Local 892, includes more than 1,200 costume designers and illustrators working in film, TV, commercials, music videos and new-media programs around the world.

Here are the Costume Designers Guild Award winners announced so far, followed by the nominees in the remaining categories:


Excellence in Period Television
The Queen’s Gambit: “End Game”
Gabriele Binder

Excellence in Contemporary Television
Schitt’s Creek: “Happy Ending”
Debra Hanson

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television
Westworld: “Parce Domine”
Shay Cunliffe


Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film

Jenny Beavan

Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Journey
Michael Wilkinson

Bina Daigeler

Massimo Cantini Parrini

Wonder Woman 1984
Lindy Hemming

Excellence in Contemporary Film

Barb and Star Go to Vista Del Mar
Trayce Gigi Field

Birds of Prey
Erin Benach

Da 5 Bloods
Donna Berwick

Promising Young Woman
Nancy Steiner

The Prom
Lou Eyrich

Excellence in Period Film

Alexandra Byrne

Judas and the Black Messiah
Charlese Antoinette Jones

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Ann Roth

Trish Summerville

One Night in Miami
Francine Jamison-Tanchuck

Excellence in Variety, Reality-Competition, Live Television

Dancing with the Stars: “Villains Night”
Daniela Gschwendtner & Steven Norman Lee

Paul Tazewell

The Masked Dancer: “Premiere – Everybody Mask Now!”
Gabrielle Letamendi & Candice Rainwater

The Masked Singer: “The Semi Finals – The Super Six”
Marina Toybina

Saturday Night Live: “John Mulaney/The Strokes”
Tom Broecker & Eric Justian

Excellence in Short Form Design

Apple: Shot on iPhone by Damien Chazelle – Vertical Cinema “The Stunt Double” short film
April Napier

The Killers: “Caution” music video
Samantha Kuester

Selena Gomez: “Boyfriend” music video
Dawn Ritz & Kenn Law

Tim Burton Themed Halloween Party short film
Dawn Ritz

The Weeknd: “Blinding Lights” music video
Ami Goodheart

Source link